…dust, bullet points, and rejoicing.

Excuse me for a moment while I wipe the immense layers of dust off of this blog. Whew–it sure has been awhile!

I’m not going to go into great detail about anything at this point, but out of politeness to the three blog readers I might still have, I’ll do a brief summary of a few things that have taken place in the past year…that way it’ll all be out of the way, and I can hopefully move forward with other things.

June 2013 was the last time I wrote, it looks like…ok…

– I had exploratory surgery a year ago and am much, much better than I was previously! Still room for improvement, but I am just so incredibly grateful for the faithfulness of the Lord through all of this!

This happened.

– Little Sister is officially a McConnaughey as of a year ago, and it’s been fantastic. Adoption is a beautiful, challenging, eye-opening, and refining thing–and boy, does it preach the Gospel to me loudly every single day. I’m faced with the truth of my adoption into Christ every day in ways that I’ve never even considered before–and the love that He has for us? I can’t even comprehend.

Well…that was fast. I’ve run out of bullet points. I just don’t know what else to list about the past year and a half–it’s been long and yet SO very fast. It’s been a time of learning to rejoice. I was talking with my roommate the other evening (while we were digging through a Christmas tree lot dumpster after dark with a flashlight) about how I think the word “rejoice” really sums up the last year for me (the last two years, even?) Learning to have a true, deep, abiding joy…all the time. Not merely because of things that happen to me that my human self terms as “good” and thus I respond by rejoicing that God loves me–there’s definitely a place for that. But, I’m talking about rejoicing because of knowing my God and His goodness all the timeKnowing His utter faithfulness. Knowing His complete inability to fail. Knowing that He has never proven Himself anything but everything-good-and-perfect-and-right-and-pure that our little minds can even begin to comprehend.

….and I think that’s an excellent note to end on.

walk-the-walk

(So, hopefully I’ll be updating this blog a little more regularly now–look for posts on Jesus, life, painting, and various other things that may happen to come along!)

3 thoughts on “…dust, bullet points, and rejoicing.

  1. Grace,
    I am so glad you are doing better. I pray for you when you come to mind. Will continue to pray for complete healing. This blog was great. It reminds me of Philippians 3 where Paul speaks of desiring to know Him more…even through the fellowship of His sufferings. It’s a wonderful thought to think that in the large and even small sufferings of this life that we are taking part in Christ’s sufferings. It’s hard to completely comprehend/explain, but I have found joy in that thought even in the midst of pain. And there is joy when we embrace the sufferings or crosses that come our way as mercies from God: a time to be purged and tried, and a time to draw even nearer to Him. It also reminds me of the words from the hymn, Nearer My God to Thee….
    “Nearer, my God, to thee, Nearer to thee! E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me…”
    Miss you and thankful for your living testimony :)

    Kelsi

    Still all my song shall be

Leave a comment